ICRA 2013 Awards received by GRASP Lab Members

May 9th, 2013

Penn Engineers Receive Awards at ICRA 2013

ICRA 2013 Awards received by GRASP Lab Members! Congratulations to all!

Best Cognitive Robotics Paper Award: “Using robotic exploratory procedures to learn the meaning of haptic adjectives”
Vivian Chu, Ian McMahon, Lorenzo Riano, Craig G. McDonald, Qin (Karen) He, Jorge Martinez Perez-Tejada, Michael Arrigo, Naomi Fitter, John Nappo, Trevor Darrell, and Katherine J. Kuchenbecker. 

Vivian (2013 ROBO masters grad) gave the presentation.  Ian and Karen are also current/recent ROBO masters grads.  Craig, Jorge, Michael, and John were Penn undergrads when doing this work, and Naomi is a MEAM Ph.D. student. All above are a part of Dr. Katherine Kuchenbecker’s group. Lorenzo is a postdoc at UC Berkeley, and Trevor Darrell is a professor at Berkeley and a GRASP alumnus.

One of the 5 finalists for Best Student Paper Award: Aaron Johnson for his paper with Dan Koditschek: “Toward a Vocabulary of Legged Leaping”.

Read more