Numerous Awards from the ICRA 2011 Conference

May 13th, 2011

The GRASP Lab had a fabulous and amazing showing at ICRA 2011 in Shanghai, China. Congratulations to all!!! The following award winners and finalists are listed below:

Best Conference Paper Award:
Daniel Mellinger and Vijay Kumar, Minimum Snap Trajectory Generation and Control for Quadrotors.

Best Associate Editor:
Katherine Kuchenbecker

Modular and Reconfigurable Robot Challenge Winner:
Mark Yim and the ModLab

Best Conference Paper Finalists
S. Shen, N. Michael and V. Kumar, 3D Estimation and Control for Autonomous Flight with Constrained Computation.
D. Mellinger and V. Kumar, Minimum Snap Trajectory Generation and Control for Quadrotors.
M. Schwager, N. Michael, V. Kumar and D. Rus, Time Scales and Stability in Networked Multi-Robot Systems.

Best Manipulation Paper Finalist
M. Sakar, E. Steager, A. Cowley, V. Kumar, and G. Pappas, ³Wireless Manipulation of Single Cells using Magnetic Microtransporters,² Proc. IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation. Shanghai, China, May, 2011.

Best Video Finalist
D. Mellinger, N. Michael, M. Shomin and V. Kumar, Recent Advances in Quadrotors.

GRASP Alumni Awardees at ICRA 2011
GRASP undergrad alumnus, Professor Ken Goldberg was presented at ICRA with the award for “Distinguished Service and Innovation as Vice-President of Technical Activities and Co-Founder of the Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering.” He will also be Editor-in-Chief of the journal starting in September.

Team Drexel (led by GRASP Alumna Ani Hsieh) won the Virtual Manufacturing Competition at ICRA 2011.